Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Gsi dying coming to stop

  1. #1
    User
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    norfolk
    Posts
    333
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Gsi dying coming to stop

    Hi guys, I got the Gsi mot?d but driving it about it keeps dying when slowing an changing to second. Or when stopping at a junction. It fires back up, sometimes a bit reluctantly but never refused to start. Any ideas folks

    Rich

  2. #2
    Supernova Club Member millworm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Sutton, Surrey
    Posts
    3,747
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    First thing I'd check is the idle control valve, give it a good clean. Hows the idle when its just started and not been driven?

  3. #3
    User
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    norfolk
    Posts
    333
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Mine doesn’t have an idle control valve bud. It idles fine bud, although it does idle a bit high. I’ve got the idle screw all the way in an it still sits at 1000rpm. It drops a bit when warm but still seems high to me. Other than that I’m stumped

  4. #4
    Club Member Club Member Iain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    East Midlands
    Posts
    13,581
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    So which is it? It keeps dying, or it idles fine?

    They all came with an ICV, yours doesn't have one, and you've said it has a fault. Try putting one back in.

  5. #5
    User
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    norfolk
    Posts
    333
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It idles fine bud or be it a bit high. It dies when your driving and change down from 3 to 2 or when you come to a stop. It doesn’t die at speed changing gear, only at low speed.

    I might be mistaken about the icv, when I looked in the Haynes manual it looked like the icv was on a carb engine. Where would the icv be on an injection ?

  6. #6
    Senior User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    blackpool
    Posts
    3,398
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Its bolted to the head where the injector loom is on a e16se. Check the afm flap mine did this and would cut out with it not opening and closing properly.

  7. #7
    User
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    norfolk
    Posts
    333
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    This might be why I’m getting confused, the bit I think your referring to is the auxiliary air valve in the Haynes manual. My understanding is that only opens on cold start then closes when warm. If it stays open I understand the idle would stay high. But would it cause the cutting out I’m describing

  8. #8
    Senior User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    blackpool
    Posts
    3,398
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    There is also the Coasting valve that hangs off the inlet manifold maybe worth checking. Have you checked the afm flap?

  9. #9
    User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Ash vale, Hampshire
    Posts
    1,470
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    What about the speed sensor on the gearbox, that cause the car to stall when pulling to a stop at junctions ifnits not working or disconnected?

  10. #10
    Supernova Club Member millworm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Sutton, Surrey
    Posts
    3,747
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by totalnova View Post
    What about the speed sensor on the gearbox, that cause the car to stall when pulling to a stop at junctions ifnits not working or disconnected?
    Afaik the c16se doesn't have one

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •