PDA

View Full Version : Alloys and Tyre Size

gunner1x1
09-06-08, 12:00 PM
The standard tyres on my Nova Sting were 165/70/13 and I uprated these to some alloys with a tyre size of 195/45/15 which keeps the gearing etc almost the same.
I also want to get a set of GTE/GSI 3 spoke but the tyres on these are 2 x 185/65/14 and 2 x 195/65/14, but I have been told that this will throw the gearing out as well as mess with the speedo readings is this right?
If so what size tyres do I need for 14 inch 3 spoke to keep everything as it should be?

Cheers

Mike

AlexW
09-06-08, 12:25 PM
i think im missing the point, but 3 spokes wont mess with your speedo, novas are designed to have them! And speedos have to Overread anyways.

gunner1x1
09-06-08, 12:38 PM
i think im missing the point, but 3 spokes wont mess with your speedo, novas are designed to have them! And speedos have to Overread anyways.

Yes, but as I understand it (and I am a novice) because the gearing,speedo etc was set up by Vauxhall to run on 13's, if I want to run on bigger wheels I have to use a wider tyre with a smaller profile to keep the over all size of the wheel the same, but by using 195/65/14 the over all size will be nearlly 50mm bigger, which so I have been told will mess with the gearing among other things.:confused:

Cheers

Mike

AlexW
09-06-08, 01:00 PM
Im also not very clued up on gearing and the such but, i would have thought that running Any tyre on 14's would not play with it too much. And your not going to be losing much anyways, if all your conserned about is the speedo it is no worry it overreads anyways.

Prey
09-06-08, 01:06 PM
Try this link:

http://www.miata.net/garage/tirecalc.html

Put in your 2 tyre sizes and it will tell you the difference in size and speedo %

gunner1x1
09-06-08, 01:32 PM
Try this link:

http://www.miata.net/garage/tirecalc.html

Put in your 2 tyre sizes and it will tell you the difference in size and speedo %