PDA

View Full Version : Bleeding after Caliper fitting

Nova_Tek
27-04-08, 09:13 PM
Will be fitting my Calipers after refurbing them. I plan to do it myself so I can learn and save cash.

I'm only changing the fronts so will I only have to bleed each caliper and not the rears?

Sorry if it sounds like a silly question but I'm new to Caliper fitting and bleeding :tard:

I will also be changing the rubber hoses for new items. When they are removed from the metal pipes will it leak brake fluid till it runs out?

Will standard Nova hoses fit on Ate calipers?

KITT1972
27-04-08, 09:28 PM
yes the hoses will fit and yes the brake fliud will leak. Use a clamp on felxi pipe like mole grips to stop fluid. when you put the calpiers on make sure the bleed nipple is at the top as the calipers can fit on both sides, if its at the botton you will never bleed the brakes properly

Nova_Tek
27-04-08, 09:59 PM
Ok cool mate.

Crimping the rubber hose I understand , but how about when I remove the rubber hose from the pipe? how do I stop the leak?

really hope I aint making myself sound stupid :tard:

:thumb:

Riggy
27-04-08, 10:18 PM
lol you dont best way to do that is unbolt old caliper and leave hanging on tie bar, fit new caliper and hose to caliper , then undo hose from car and swap then over quickly ,

then bleed them :thumb:

Nova_Tek
27-04-08, 10:21 PM
Got it, not so technical after all :D

Stuart
27-04-08, 10:30 PM
and get a gunsons easybleed from halfords... much easier using that on yer own than getting a mate to pump the pedal etc.

Lee
27-04-08, 10:56 PM
lol you dont best way to do that is unbolt old caliper and leave hanging on tie bar, fit new caliper and hose to caliper , then undo hose from car and swap then over quickly ,

then bleed them :thumb:

Yes he will, he mentioned he's changing the rubber pipes as well ;)

All you can do is be quick mate :) There will be some leakage. DONT get any brake fluid on any paint work at any cost!

Jeff16v
28-04-08, 04:29 PM