PDA

View Full Version : Fuel...

MOL
24-06-07, 04:16 PM
Hiya... :thumb:

I currently own a redtop nova and Ive been having a few lack of power problems with it.
I managed to work a few things out and realised it was a fueling problem. To test this I gently clamped the fuel return pipe (not fully just slightly to keep a little bit more fuel up front).
As a result of this the car is runing 10 times better....

My question is.. can I keep this clamped and drive the car today until I sort it properly tomorow?
I dont want to be risking doing any damage to anything thats my only concern... Im pretty sure it'll be ok, but thought I'd best ask :confused: :D

Adam
24-06-07, 04:23 PM
First thing id look at, have you got a MPi fuel pump?

MOL
24-06-07, 04:41 PM
Im not too sure mate - to be honest Ive only owned the car a week or 2 and Im still learning bits myself about whats been done to it and what parts its made up of.
I know it was originally a 1400 sr but im not sure on whats been changed in the conversion. I was gonna have a proper look tomorow and see.

Paul
24-06-07, 11:06 PM
In case you dont know,

The MPI tanks, which is the best one to use with an external MPI pump has a 12mm ID pipe coming from back rear of the bolt on sender unit.

The SPi tank pumps are found under the back seat, lift this up, see the black cover, pop that off, in there is the pump.

You use a vectra pump cut down to work with the SPI setup, the MPI use a Nova MPI/Early XE External one.

However, jst a few things to check at the same time, look for a ****e/spli vacuum on the regulator, check the fuel is bled through at the rail properly, by removing the cover and pressing in the nipple. fuel filter also.

Check that the hoses are in good condition underneath the car also. Ideally you want to change the SR fuel system completey, it makes it a 'proper' job as to put it. High pressure lines, new fuel filter, just makes it all freshened up and newer basically.

Hope this is of some help.

Paul

MOL