PDA

View Full Version : Building a Nova 1.7TD

Andy_L
30-04-07, 01:28 PM
Hi,

I?m after some information about building a Nova with a 1.7TD engine.

In an ideal world I?d like to be able to use it everyday but still do the odd track day in it. However as I?ve not even started looking for a suitable car to do the conversion with and I?ve been told a few people on here have built ?em but had a few issues with the cars staying together I thought I?d ask the experts.

Now i've never done anything like this before but is it out of the reach of someone with time and common sense?

Any help/advice/piss taking greatly recieved

:thumb:

Stuart
30-04-07, 01:36 PM
experts is a wildly vivid way to describe what those two animals burgo and baxter do to these engines/cars....

General Baxter
30-04-07, 01:36 PM
1) you will need a 1.5td shell (engine mounts diff)
2) will need a good shell
3) Repair shell
4) add HH sternethen kit
5) BIG Brakes, there heavy engines lol
6) Add F28, i seem to kill F20 gearboxs lol

experts is a wildly vivid way to describe what those two animals burgo and baxter do to these engines/cars....
its the future i get 35+mpg on full boost lol

Andy_L
30-04-07, 01:41 PM
1) you will need a 1.5td shell (engine mounts diff)
2) will need a good shell
3) Repair shell
4) add HH sternethen kit
5) BIG Brakes, there heavy engines lol

its the future i get 35+mpg on full boost lol

Aha Andyracer has been singing your praises (well mentioned you anyway lol )

Are TD shells hard to get hold of?
FPMSL @ 2 and 3.
I'll google number 4! Does it make it hard to live with on a day to day basis??
BIG as in V6 Discs and Calipers or BIGGER??

MM 35MPG. Is that on veggie oil or can you not use it once tuned?? :thumb:

General Baxter
30-04-07, 01:42 PM
I'll google number 4! Does it make it hard to live with on a day to day basis??

dont know the shell only lasted a week with the 1.8 in i went thru 1 F20 and bent the chasis rail lol

P.s there smokey once tuned lol

Andy_L