PDA

View Full Version : 1.4 engine build

LUV2XLR8
24-04-07, 04:11 PM
right at the moment i have a bare block ready to rebuild. this is my first time adventuring into building an engine (probably my last too) :roll:

anyway, i have ready...

mains and big end bearings,
piston rings,
oil pump,
water pump,

i know i need a sump gasket but what else do i need as in sealant, lube etc? :confused:

any help would be great :D

Adam
24-04-07, 04:24 PM
A good Torque wrench/angle gauge if you dont have one.

RTV/Silicone sealent for the sump gasket.
And i think for one of the main caps.

Haynes a engine re-build guide.

LUV2XLR8
24-04-07, 04:29 PM
i have the haynes book, this silicone sealant, is it the same stuff you would use to seal a thermostat houseing?
i have a torque wrench, but not an angle gauge.

garyc
24-04-07, 05:01 PM
Head set and bottom end set, will ensure you have new gaskets everywhere! Get some of the black sensor safe silicon sealer.

LUV2XLR8
24-04-07, 05:10 PM
black is it? the one i have is red.
how much would i be looking at for a bottom end set?

Adam
24-04-07, 05:11 PM
Need a ring compressor too if you dont already have one.

LUV2XLR8
24-04-07, 05:13 PM
yea i can get hold of one. just want to get the thing together now and i'l probably run it in on the standard sr carb.

SUP4NOV4
24-04-07, 09:31 PM
Hi mate you dont really need that much, if your building the full engine the a full engine gasket set would be the best way top and bottom dont start sealing everthing up with sealer if it gets into the oil siump it can block the strainer and corse oil starvation no preasure.
Like allready said
Gasket sets
Pistion ring compresor
torqe wrench
it really depends on how good a job you want mate do you know what your really doing fitting the pistons directions, also set your ring gaps if you need any advise please ask

Jon_nova1
24-04-07, 09:36 PM