PDA

View Full Version : Top Mounts

nova ian
12-01-07, 06:43 PM
Just wondered if I could get some info on the diferences and or benifits of both eccentric and concentric top mounts??

obvious difference I can see and understand is that eccentric mounts enable adjustment and therefore alter the camber, but what does a concentric top mount enable you to do as there doesnt appear to be any means of adjustment to do.

Im a novice when it comes to this sort of thing hence why i'm posting to try and gain some knowledge!!

Thanks.

Ian

Lee
12-01-07, 07:25 PM
Consentric mounts are basically standard, hense why theres no adjustment.

Eccentric mounts not only enable camber adjustment, but also castor which can help with turn in or oversteery tendencies.

craig green
13-01-07, 06:22 PM
Do you need to have camber bolts on the lower stut bolt or will the eccentric top mounts do this on their own?

Also is there a factory position you can set eccentic TMs to. Bit of a pain in the harris if it must be laser aligned after they are fitted. Might not be able to afford it or another reason.

R1CH
13-01-07, 06:34 PM
I just set mine by eye, asked a few folk who had them fitted where they had theres set to and just went off that, handles well and doesn't scrub tyres so they can't br far out !!
Might have access to all the gear to get it all aligned, set up & corner weights set with my new job ... we'll have to see if i can blag them !!

Rich

Lee
13-01-07, 09:22 PM
Do you need to have camber bolts on the lower stut bolt or will the eccentric top mounts do this on their own?

Also is there a factory position you can set eccentic TMs to. Bit of a pain in the harris if it must be laser aligned after they are fitted. Might not be able to afford it or another reason.

Nope, no need for the wobbley bolts Craig.

Unfortunately, every time you play with the top mount, it will play with the tracking settings. Thats why i always carry two bits of wood and a tape measure lol

nova ian