PDA

View Full Version : white smoke!

SRlew
24-08-06, 09:07 PM
well i noticed a bit the other day when decelerating didnt think much of it.
but then when a following me earlier, he told me that there was a small amount of white smoke coming from the exhaust at junction (idle) then a fair bit when i ecelerate and he said it was nearly choking him and it was stinking!

what the hell is this from then?

cheers all, lewis

Ricky G
24-08-06, 09:17 PM
my friends 1.4 sr chucked out loads of white smoke and it turned out to be head gasket gone! but im not a mechanic so i wouldnt know. another one of my mates had an xr2 with a s2 turbo lump in it and after boosting and coming off throttle it would chuck out loads of white smoke but that was to do with his turbo apparently!

SRlew
24-08-06, 09:20 PM
umm i havent got a turbo so thats that the better option gone. it never done it before. like when i put the engine in etc only the last couple of days. best not be head gasket, but hey theres nout i can do if it has gone.

any one else have any suggestions?

also mate! do you know how hard it was to put that turbo lump in his xr2? as i want to do that soon.

nova~norm
24-08-06, 09:47 PM
am not a mechanic but would have to say that there is a good chance its the head gaskit open oil cap look 4 mayo look in header tank for oil look on hte dip stick for water leave it sitting and c if it heats up alot more than usel eg over half way!

Adam
24-08-06, 11:47 PM
Stinking of what?

White is water evaporating...

stv-b16a
25-08-06, 12:23 AM
water mixed with oil in the worst case scenario eg head gasket

SRlew
25-08-06, 06:13 PM
im not to sure what it smells of i'll ask him. when i floored it from a junction a fair cloud of it came/comes out of the exhaust.

doherty
25-08-06, 06:27 PM
head gasket... :(

SRlew
25-08-06, 06:34 PM
oh it best not be! i carnt be ar**d learning to do that yet!

how can you tell if it is the head gasket? other than the usual white gunk stuff etc.

cheers lew