PDA

View Full Version : fitting an engine

SRlew
09-07-06, 08:00 PM
lol sorry im back on the engine thing but this time i want to know about fitting the engine lol

i was hoping of fitting it on thursday, but my brother is in work now and we aint off on the same days now for a while and i dont want to wait.

is it possible for me to fit the engine by myself? or is that going to be difficult?

was thinking of dropping the engine and box into the bay and then maybe getting a trolley jack under the box to raise it up, then just place the engine/box mounts in and then bolt them on:confused: yay or nay?

would that work then? what do you lot do? and i take it most of you can do it by yourself. most of you know that iv never taken one out till now so this is my first time fitting one

help apprieciated

nov4801
09-07-06, 08:11 PM
id get some one to help ya mate thats knows what there doin. i had to put a new engine in mine and it took 5 of us to lift it and drop it in then bolt it all up

Rexy
09-07-06, 08:25 PM
f you have an engine crane your laffing, if not Well your gona have to get a few lads round. Its easy enough to do tho...

:thumb:

SRlew
09-07-06, 08:32 PM
yer i will be hireing the engine crane again. dont want to hire it for the day then find out i car nt do it myself and need it again like!

will i be able to do it?

R1CH
09-07-06, 08:34 PM
Yeah if you've got a crane then no probs, i managed to fit my LET & F28 by myself without any probs.

Lift car up & put engine inline with the bay ...
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y221/ricmetcalf/DSC00381.jpg

Lower car down over engine ...
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y221/ricmetcalf/DSC00383.jpg

Lift engine up in to the bay, fit mounts then jobs a good'un !!
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y221/ricmetcalf/DSC00384-1.jpg

Rich

Rexy
09-07-06, 08:36 PM
As above, Its not hard fella. Oh and rich... thats an ace idea of putting some cardboard to protect the paint. Gona have to do that when i put my xe in.

SRlew