PDA

View Full Version : 1.2 tuning

deanreid
29-06-06, 11:42 AM
is it true that if u put a 1.6 cam and monifold on a 1.2 it will give it a power gain cos i have been told this and wasent to sure if it was true or not can some1 help me plz

dannyb
29-06-06, 11:58 AM
Did some one text you that information?? I didn't think a 1.6 (GTE/GSi) camshaft had the same distributor drive as a 1.2 camshaft. You can use an SR camshaft. Is your car carburettor or SPI?

deanreid
29-06-06, 12:33 PM
iv gota carb i no i can change the manifolds cos iv no ppl who have dune this on different engines i am a mechanic myself so i might try it and see what happens

Stuart
29-06-06, 12:54 PM
for a start :mf: otherwise bye bye ;)

second.
yes a gte/gsi exhaust manifold + downpipes and system will fit and give you a little more power but nothing to get excited about lol.

the 1.3cam gives approx 5bhp gain on a std engine... failing that fit a proper aftermarket one like a kent/piper/newman/catcam of a sensible spec.

it all boils down to, do you seriously want to tune the 1.2 engine, OR are you merely making it a little less slow until you do the usual mod of 1.6 or XE engine swap?

deanreid
29-06-06, 01:06 PM
well i wana try it for a while so i can save bit then get a more powerfull engine. i have the cam and manifold sitting in the garage not doing anything so i'm guna try it and see what happens then upgrade to a 1.6 because of insurence reasons. wot kind of dis advantages could happen if i do this except using more fuel????

Stuart
29-06-06, 01:19 PM
erm no disadvantages, bar void insurance unless you tell them ;)

if its only for the mean time. just live with it as once you start with little mods here and there you will spunk loads of cash up the wall on an engine that dosent need it

novamadman
29-06-06, 02:45 PM
erm no disadvantages, bar void insurance unless you tell them ;)