PDA

View Full Version : Reconditioning alloys

db_1.2
25-03-06, 06:15 PM
hi, i would like to recondition my alloys, there in quite a state but not beyond repair! can anyone suggest first of all how to get the paint off, how to get rid of scuffs and sracth's and also what paint to use when repainting the wheels.Also prices would be helpful (on a very tight budget!)

One other thing is the wheels are wobling quite bad, i know a reasonable amount about mechanics etc as i am a trainee mechanic but is it possible the wheels are too bad to even be re balanced? they did have weights before as i can see where they were but the bloke who had them before took them off, for what reason i dont know.

Please help you can see the results i will post pics and ill be up pv this year:thumb:

mikey14sr
25-03-06, 07:28 PM
The method I use to check old alloys is to go down to my cousins tyre place and mount the rim only onto the balancing machine. When it spins up you will be able to see if the rim is out of shape, if you can see the edge going up and down or side to side its had it.
To refinish them I just sand them down with 400 grit paper, fill any light scratches with body filler, on deeper ones and on the edge of the rim I use chemical metal. Then just continue as if it's a normal body panel. You can get away with rattle cans from hellfrauds or the like, or if you know a sprayer try getting them to do 'em in his down-time.

Heres a pic of one of mine, done 10 months ago with cheap rattle cans,
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v689/mickyd79/Project/wheel.jpg

db_1.2
25-03-06, 10:37 PM
yeh the ones i got are trashed and have flat spots! from what i can see anyway i never really took a lot of notice. so could my wheels still be balanced do you think? the main problem is when i take my foot of the accelerator and let it slow down, there is no problem when the brakes are applied, im pretty sure its balancing, but what if it isnt?!

mikey14sr
25-03-06, 11:06 PM