PDA

View Full Version : Three headgasket failures =(

Iain
18-01-06, 09:53 AM
This can't be normal. Last night out driving I blew my third head gasket (was replaced twice before by my mechanic) and I've only owned the car for a little over a year. White smoke out exhaust, bubbling air in coolant tank...

He mentioned if it happened again they'd look for underlying problems which might cause it. Just thought I'd put it to you lot before I gave it to him to fix again; what might be causing it?

Cheers.

Stuart
18-01-06, 10:05 AM
have you had the ehad and block skimmed/checkd for flatness?

does it overheat bigtime before poping?
have you got too much ign advance which can kill the HG (but it would also spank the pistons too)

Iain
18-01-06, 10:14 AM
Okay I'm not good with engines & their terminology :P I let my mechanic do it all. Just thought I'd ask to get an idea of anything he mentions if he finds something wrong.

However I think he said he had skimmed the head when he did the first headgasket. Last night it did not overheat at all, but luckily I was around the corner from my house when it started pouring out smoke so I could drop it off quickly.

No idea about the ignition advance you speak of :?

MARTIN KELSON
18-01-06, 10:52 AM
Whot engine is it?
Personally after number 3 i would cut my losses and get a cheap 2nd hand engine.
Loads out there for 200-300 quid complete.

Get your mechanic to fit instead of wasting time trying to fix.

Sounds drastic i know but at least you might get confidence back in reliability.

Iain
18-01-06, 10:56 AM
It's a 1.2 carb, nothing special. If I can get it fixed for the same price as a new engine surely that would be better as it (supposedly) wouldn't happen again and there's a chance the 'new' engine could have similar problems...?

MARTIN KELSON
18-01-06, 11:45 AM
Its happened now 3 times so i wouldn't trust it being supposidly fixed once and for all.