PDA

View Full Version : 1.6 engine swap quick questions

Evil_lloyd
23-10-05, 11:23 PM
Evenin.

I have a 1.4Sr, (high milage) just been offered a good low milage 1.6gsi engine, which im thing of fitting. ive read the guides on here and elsewhere and doing the work isnt a problem (mechanic by trade).

The GSi engine ive been offered is standard, my Sr has a skimmed, polished and ported head with Kent cam. Is it worth swapping my head over or would the standard 1.6 head (with my kent cam fitted into it) be better as ive read that the 1.4 isnt a great head in the 1st place.

I want to run the Engine on carbs, have read about the use of webers but at moment thats out of my budget. will the original carb and manifold mate up to and run the 1.6 engine ok untill i can afford webers ( i know it wont give great performance).

Cheers for reading, hope someone can answer me so i know weather to bother buying the 1.6 motor.

Riggy
23-10-05, 11:49 PM
1st off yes use the 1.6 head with your kent cam - will be much better

2nd the 1.4 inlet and carb wont match mate , the 1.4 has a square type port where as the 1.6 is more round - it will bolt on but it WILL run worse then a 1.0 lol (please nobody say ive done it and it runs fine, it doesnt)

either hold onto the engine untill you can get the webbers then transplant it , or fit it with the injection (although then you would need tank, pump, ecu, and injection lines )

burgo
24-10-05, 01:03 AM

2nd the 1.4 inlet and carb wont match mate , the 1.4 has a square type port where as the 1.6 is more round - it will bolt on but it WILL run worse then a 1.0 lol (please nobody say ive done it and it runs fine, it doesnt)