PDA

View Full Version : 1.0 -How do you drive yours?

*^Nicola^*
28-02-05, 12:15 AM
Hi!

I own a 1.0 Nova and just started driving about in it after it sitting on the drive for three months.
Anyhow - it has four gears and seems very sluggish and looses power quicky when going uphill ( even slight inclines) in third gear. It aslo will only go into fourth gear when doing about 45mph on a flat road - which means heardly ever,most of the roads are 30 road my way so I'm mostly driving in third gear. Is this normal?

I'm actually a learner driver :oops: and learning in a brand new Citroen Saxo which is much easier to drive than my Nova. You can be at 30mph in 4th gear etc no problem and in the Nova I feel I have to change down gears and up one by one, in my learner car you can changeup 1st to 3rd no bother but certainley not in the Nova.

Any thoughts?

burgo
28-02-05, 12:18 AM
your nova is 4 speed so the ratios are much longer compared to the saxo which is why you can use lower gears in the saxo. 30 in 3rd is normal for a 4 speed so dont worry about it

Adam
28-02-05, 12:19 AM
The saxo probably has more power and gears than the 1.0L nova, so that could be why you can be in 4th at 30mph. Is the saxo also a diesel by any chance?
In my 1.4 astra i can go in 4th at 30mph, but usually don't bother due to a lack of power to accelerate.
I stick in 3rd to about 40ish normally.

The saxo will seem easier to drive cus it will have abs, power steering, and a load of other electronic gizmos driving for you, wheras the nova has steering wheel, bit of plastic(i.e dashboard), then the wheels :lol:

If its being sitting then it could do with an oil change and service to make sure its running at best.

Stick with the nova, its a real car :wink: :D

boredbloke
28-02-05, 08:56 AM
^^^^^

yeah saxo's suck ass

Philsutton
28-02-05, 11:23 AM
nobody likes a saxo

Stuart
28-02-05, 11:38 AM
both of you are on strike 2 of a warning.

behave

scott.parker
28-02-05, 01:25 PM