PDA

View Full Version : throttle boddies or not? your views and reccomendations

nova---chris
17-02-05, 04:19 AM
I currently run a 2L 16V XE on carbs. I use dta ignition only management.
Theres alot of other stuff done to the engine as you will see from my link in my signature. Currently its producing 200bhp @ 6323 rpm. Runs a 13.8 with stripped interior. everything else set for road use .Now ive been debating the throttle boddie route for several months but now have decided to pursue it . Im wondering what sort of power gains am i likely to see with my setup? I know driveability would improve no doubt as would fuel consumption ect. But im hoping there would be a decent gain to be had to?? Also what injectors would i be needing or would be best??
What throttles would people reccomend? Direct to head? taperd? parrallels?
I definatly want dta management tho. ect

Just like to know what peoples thoughts would be on this.
And what sort of gains id be expecting?
Thanks in advance peeps

And thus my last post about my bits forsale. If i sorce a set which meet my requirements then my stuff is for sale as soon as the deal is done!!

peester
17-02-05, 07:42 AM
have u seen this..?
http://www.migweb.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=180796

Stuart
17-02-05, 08:03 AM
i dunno dude, its alot of money for only a few bhp gained.

id only imagine you get to 210 at most, although that will depend on the ropey RR lol

if you do go for it im sure we can sort some things extra out on the loom

martweaver
17-02-05, 08:30 AM
The car I always think about when it comes to Novas on TB's is J20NOV, I am sure that was running a solid 250 - 260bhp, but whan I spoke to the guy at York once he claimed to have spent 10k on his engine :o .
On the same day he was eventually beaten by a GTE running an XE on twin 45's & lumpy cams!!! All you seem to gain over carbs with them is reliability!