PDA

View Full Version : Im new here take it easy!!

Dobby
27-11-04, 01:32 AM
Hi all!
Before I start on the questions I am a fully qualified aircraft engineer and motor vehicle technician, it just a case of this is my first nova and even though thay are basic cars to start with :lol: they have a lot of potential!! My car is now a 1.4 SR block 1.2 head with a 1.4 cam of some description and a weber 32 dtml carb. Lowered 60mil astra GTE brakes and no interior as such :D . Its now coming off the road for the winter for a major rebuild ready for the spring and dry tarmac but i need some pointers:

I need to lose some weight! The front end will be fibreglass and spaceframed but what dont i need elsewhere- i dont like metal!

Whats the strongest standard valve springs that will fit or do double springs actually help on these top ends?

Whats the best g'box to fit for low end (i.e., acceleration and ton and a bit top end) with no serious gear jumps? my current box is very low first not to bad 2nd and 3rd, a usable 4th and 5th i never hit!!

Any help would be much appreciated and i hope i can assist in some way in the future- i learn quick and find out lots of useless info a lot that may br somebodies godsend- just ask robb!

Rach
27-11-04, 01:41 AM
Hey,

Well i doubt i'd be any help at all with any of those things... sorry

But welcome to NL anyway

There are plenty of people on here that will happily give you advice

:D

J4MES
27-11-04, 01:48 AM
welcome mate....

to lose weight::

carbon fibre roof skin, fibreglass boot, perspex windows, no dash :twisted: , etc....

sure somebody will help with the rest.....

Dobby
27-11-04, 01:50 AM
Thanks for the welcome!

Ive just been reading through the tech forum lots of useful stuff and you lot appear to know your stuff makes a nice change from some of the supposed trade forums i have tried in the past :lol:

Dobby
27-11-04, 01:56 AM