PDA

View Full Version : FAO anyone with a website

_JH_
11-03-04, 11:22 PM
can you recommend a good free ftp client please?

I'm not very good with web design etc and I run a site on lycos. all basic stuff really but I wanna install phpbb. The thing is the lycos ftp client only yets you upload 8 individual files at once. I don't have the time nor the lack of friends to sit in front of the computer that long. I'm finding it hard enough to understand the jargon in the instructions as it is!

Neil.
11-03-04, 11:33 PM
use this one, called FTP Explorer, the most easiet simplest thing ever invented.

www.stuffing.freeserve.co.uk/ftpsetup.exe

If just the setup file dont work downlaod this, contatian all 6 files,

www.stuffing.freeserve.co.uk/ftp.zip
Neil

_JH_
12-03-04, 12:41 AM
cheers, 2 mins after posting I got the one i'd downloaded to work. I now have my own forum on my website. Woohoo! not bad for a hairy-arst farmer. just wish I hadn't stayed up late to do it

Neil.
12-03-04, 12:47 AM
oh well i tried.

mikeoxford
12-03-04, 12:54 AM
your very trying :lol:

Breeny
12-03-04, 03:21 AM
I use "Ace FTP" Havn't really experimented with others tbh, its what I've always used!

?Marty?
12-03-04, 04:46 AM
I use (Ipswitch) WS_FTP-Pro. Has a "classic" user interface, Explorer interface, Find Utility, Scripting Utility, Synchronize Utility, and Pro Icon Placement. Aii.

mikeoxford
12-03-04, 12:40 PM
I use (Ipswitch) WS_FTP-Pro.

we distribute that at work. for the basics its probably a bit complex - no wizards etc etc but it does a lot of things that are useful

?Marty?
12-03-04, 06:38 PM
^^^

Only gripe i have about it, is that on some of the others i've tried, you can edit a file on the 'server side' and it'll automatically save and re-upload it, whilst this one does not.

But i like the interface, it's all set out well and the functions have served my needs so far.

Barn
12-03-04, 07:47 PM
use this one, called FTP Explorer, the most easiet simplest thing ever invented.