PDA

View Full Version : 150 amp mig welder

torquey
25-03-16, 06:57 PM
What you got? Cheap cheap.:thumb:

Plug
02-04-16, 05:16 PM
Been thinking about getting this recently https://www.ebay.co.uk/ulk/itm/181608359704

seems decent price, was thinking 180 but for the hike in price and what I'll use it for in unsure

torquey
02-04-16, 06:54 PM
Not a bad price that. I've managed to dig my old one out so will see if it still works. If not might order one cheers.

EwanG
02-04-16, 07:29 PM
I am a fabricator welder and to be honest plug I wouldn't buy a sealey from what I have heard. They can have wire feed problems that will result in poor welds. A few weeks ago I bought a second hand boc 190 amp mig (made by kemppi) good quality machine for £300. I can't fault it. It's about 9 years old and should last another 9 at least probably many more. I know if you buy a new machine you get a guarantee but there are plenty good quality slightly used machines out there it's the better way to go. The mig I bought was £650 new and most second hand ones go for half the price they were new so more bang for your buck! Also don't buy silly small argon/co2 bottles as they are expensive. You only get about ten minutes welding out of them. Get a 20 litre bottle as you get 6.5 hours welding with them from sgs gases . Yeh it's 90 deposit plus 70 for the gas so 70 for a exchange/refill. If you sign up to the mig welding forum you can get a £20 cashback from sgs on your first purchase. I know I have went on a bit about this but just want to help out and try to make sure people don't waste their money. Alot of questions can be answered on the migweldingforum. :thumb:

EwanG
02-04-16, 07:34 PM