PDA

View Full Version : c20xe novice help

Nutty Nova
05-11-14, 12:49 PM
Hey guys im no expert when it comes to redtop engines but trying to learn and planning on buying one this week for my nova conversion.

Is there anything worth looking out for.
Advert mentions it comes with wiring loom, ecu, gearbox and manifold.
Is there anything else I need?

Also ive read up about best to get an engine with coscast head.
This is from a h reg cavalier gsi with 140,000miles on

http://i221.photobucket.com/albums/dd121/Pownabown/c20xe_zps1170117a.jpg (http://s221.photobucket.com/user/Pownabown/media/c20xe_zps1170117a.jpg.html)

Any help is much appreciated and if anyone sees any problems with the picture id love to learn more

Thanks

Iain
05-11-14, 01:17 PM
Looks fairly used and abused in the picture!

You'll need an SFI box or 'powercap' and intake pipework and air filter. Exhaust manifold, either standard or Ashley 4-2-1.

Check the wiring hasn't been hacked about beyond economical repair.

Coscast heads are supposedly better, early ones have forged pistons from the factory too which is slightly nicer. I wouldn't go out of my way for either personally.

Early ones (20XE not C20XE) you can blag through a non emissions MOT if you have a later shell you're putting it in.

Are you planning a full stripdown, inspection and rebuild?

Nutty Nova
05-11-14, 02:16 PM
Yes planning on a full rebuild from scratch, have a friend whos very good with these engines and can advise me the right way to go about rebuilding it for more power. Just wanted some input from fellow nova enthusiasts whove done this sort of project before and can give me some advice.

Thanks for info Iain

Stuart
05-11-14, 02:44 PM
I'd not get hung up on a coscast one, and simply do the crack repair on the KS type when you rebuild it.

Nutty Nova
05-11-14, 03:54 PM
Cheers stuart how do you do a crack repair, is it a bottle of the head repair stuff that you put in with the water?

Stuart
05-11-14, 04:29 PM
noooooo.