PDA

View Full Version : What do you recommend i do to a C20SEH before I fit?

Nealos
26-09-14, 10:59 PM
Iv just bought a C20SEH and f20 box is there anything you recommend I do to them before I get them fitted? I'm not looking to spend much money as I'm on a bit of a budget. Apparently there's a bit of knocking when the engine is cold but goes when it is warmed up. I'm new to this too and not really mechanically minded (can do basic things like servicing etc) so all help is appreciated. Thanks!

torquey
26-09-14, 11:02 PM
The knocking needs investigating for starters. Also i would bang a new cambelt and waterpump on it. Makes sense as engines out of the car.

Nealos
26-09-14, 11:06 PM
Belt and water pump have been done, the guy said he was going to reshell it excuse my ignorance/lack of knowledge but what exactly is this?

torquey
26-09-14, 11:08 PM
Sounds like he means needs new bearings. Has it spun a shell hence the knocking?

Nealos
26-09-14, 11:28 PM
Not to sure he said it ran fine but he was going to reshell it if he used it again due to knock when cold

Rob H
27-09-14, 02:00 AM
I assume he means it has a bottom end bearing knock. Basically the little c shape sleeves that fit in between the con rod and lower connecting section of the rod. If you whip the sump off and inspect carefully should be able to see if 1 has spun.

nova_niek
27-09-14, 12:04 PM
If the bearing shells are on the way out, look for copper deposits in the sump. If that is the case, then you want to have the crank checked over. If the crank is damaged, weigh in the engine and get something else.

Unless, of course, the knocking when cold turns out to be hydraulic tappets that need a good clean. Never mind that, pull the sump of anyway. Gives you a nice opportunity to clean and inspect the engine.

torquey
27-09-14, 04:05 PM
I would also replace the oil pump to make sure if it has spun a shell.

nova_niek
27-09-14, 04:38 PM