PDA

View Full Version : Welding courses?

steve1434
22-08-14, 09:14 AM
Hi. I want to learn to weld for hobby/personal use and was wondering if anyone knows any good training providers in the south? There are some courses available at the Guildford tech college, but the time allocated for actual welding is minimal....

Cheers

Steve

steve1434
22-08-14, 09:23 AM
Or is there anyone local to me who is willing to do a good chunk of welding - paying money obviously lol......

totalnova
22-08-14, 09:34 AM
I've just got my self a Mig welder and ill be teaching my self in my garage using you tube videos your local to me and your more then welcome to have a go as well.

steve1434
22-08-14, 10:29 AM
Thanks mate, I was thinking of doing the same. Will search for some YouTube videos and see if it's something I can do - how hard can it be hahaha

Iain
22-08-14, 10:48 AM
Self learning is OK, if you can spare the time then an evening course would be better. I've self taught enough to 'get by' but always nicer knowing you're definitely doing the right thing.

Johnny A
22-08-14, 11:49 AM
I bought a £200 welder and got pretty good with that. Then several years ago I bought a second hand welder worth about £800 new with argonshield gas and the difference is amazing!

Benn
22-08-14, 12:32 PM
I'd like to do a course too, i do ok with what i've learnt at home and from working in the bodyshop. But even there i was taught but someone that had picked it up cause they needed too. So they were ok ish...

Rob H
22-08-14, 01:39 PM