PDA

View Full Version : Saab B204L or R Conversions??

Balley
28-07-14, 07:25 PM
Hi all, any one know anything about the Saab B204L or R engines, I am very tempted to fit one in my new SR.

I know all about the clearence issues etc and the fact you have to basically make a new O/S chassis leg but what I don't know is stuff like can I fit an F20 straight on one and with what clutch/flywheel?

What relays do you need to wire in? Is it fuel and ignition?

Is it really worth it, I can weld and fabricate and I am a qualified mechanic/auto electrician so that doesn't worry me.

Other option is a LET but they are a bit common and bloody dear!

Dan

nova_stee
28-07-14, 10:16 PM
B204 isn't the engine people make it out to be i removed the xe from my daily Corsa and fitted one then took it off the road a month later it was that ****. Clets are common for a reason they make a nova in to everything i want from one really but Iam very biased and want to fit one to every nova

Balley
29-07-14, 11:13 AM
Okay that is interesting. What B204 was you running? was it standard?

Johnny A
29-07-14, 07:59 PM
This has been covered before in great detail, please use the search function.

Southie
29-07-14, 08:04 PM
This is an old thread that Bailey has commented on regarding this so he's aware of the struggles Johnny:

http://www.pngclub.com/forum/showthread.php?202019-Saab-b204-conversion

The reason why C20let is still around and expensive is that they work IMO, a fully rebuilt one would be best tbh Bailey.

Johnny A
29-07-14, 08:09 PM
The B204 is pretty much the same length as the 1UZFE..... 4.0 V8

Now go fit one!

nova_stee
29-07-14, 08:22 PM
Okay that is interesting. What B204 was you running? was it standard?
Stage 3 with viggen turbo 300bhp ish just wasnt good

Balley
30-07-14, 04:25 PM
This has been covered before in great detail, please use the search function.