PDA

View Full Version : What would you do? Having a car dilemma...

limpstar
21-04-14, 08:28 PM
I'll keep this as basic as I can... (It is a ramble though!)

I have had the pleasure of owning my Corsa GSi (C16XE) for the past 5 years now.
This car is my daily runner, and has never missed a beat, has been by far the most reliable car I've ever owned, and also despite the long list of cars I've owned (bigger, faster, smaller, slower) it has also been the most fun I've ever had with a car that I have owned.
So... you can kind of tell I am very much attached to it. It has not only been the longest I've owned a car, but it has some very personal sentimental value tied into it aswell.
Now, the issues are...
It's a 20yr old car. Things are starting to show signs of its age, and will need replacing. I'm not a mechanic, nor am I very good with that side of things, so an overhaul of essentials will have to be taken out by a garage. Obviously, this may prove costly.

Recently, I've noticed when I am pulling away from standstill, a large puff of blue smoke is appearing... this has only come around in the past few weeks, but I am sceptical as to whether alarm bells should be ringing or not? Is it a biggy? Will it cost 3 figures to sort? Is it worth the investment?

The car has done 122k. Despite that, the car has had regular servicing, ever 7-9k during my ownership (I am the 3rd owner) and as mentioned, it has never missed a beat.

The car is Carabic Blue, fair enough, not to everyones taste, but even so, it has been an absolute ar5e ache to try and obtain some matching paint in order to repair and refresh some panels. The car could do with a 'blow over', due to the odd surface scratch, and stone chip. The area around the rear wiper has rust, and has bubbled the paint work, there is a bubble on the lower passenger door, and above the passenger wheel arch. All of this will need tending to by a bodyshop - more £'s.