PDA

View Full Version : First time start question

jonnyd61
09-04-13, 07:00 PM
This mite seem a daft question bt wen i put my engine bak together as this is my first time doing so is it a good idea to put oil all over the cams for wen it firsts turns over so theres no grinding ect ect in the engine ?????

meritlover
09-04-13, 07:15 PM
it certainly wont do any harm. the main bit is the bearings getting pre-lubed.

if you are rebuilding it, often as you fill it with oil the rockers will get a good soaking anyway as it often drains slower than you pour it in. this results in filling the rocker box and coating everything.

best to remove the plugs and spin over on the starter until the oil light goes out. This is good practice anyway as it ensures there is oil pressure and all the bearings have been lubed with little load on them.

xx

Martin.p
09-04-13, 07:21 PM
When I rebuilt my engine I took plugs out, removed fuel pump fuse,
But I didn't get any oil pressure because I didn't fill the oil pump with oil befor fitting it. So it couldn't create any suction at pick up pipe or pump oil.
I had to drop sump and fill it with a syringe.

meritlover
09-04-13, 07:29 PM
I had to drop sump and fill it with a syringe.

what did you fill?

therealnovaboy
09-04-13, 07:33 PM
Your supposed to fill the oil pump with Vaseline to help it prime on start up.

meritlover
09-04-13, 07:37 PM
Your supposed to fill the oil pump with Vaseline to help it prime on start up.

do they do that in the factory? or do they just fire it up, bounce it off the limiter for a few seconds, then screw it on a dyno before rolling it onto a transporter like nearly every other manufacturer does?

Pistol Pete
09-04-13, 07:41 PM
do they do that in the factory? or do they just fire it up, bounce it off the limiter for a few seconds, then screw it on a dyno before rolling it onto a transporter like nearly every other manufacturer does?