PDA

View Full Version : Gearbox's for c20xe

Lee-bo
24-01-13, 07:52 PM
Im relatively new to the old school vauxhall scene, but do have a reasonable knowledge. The 1 thing im not sure on is the gearbox's, and which ones are compatable with what engines... Ive read through about 20 searches regarding gearbox's, diffs, 'Which gearbox is best for acceleration..', which gearbox is the best...' blah blah posts - BUT im still confused as there seems to be a massive confusion, with many posts contradicting each other etc.

Now then, im going to be fitting a 2.0 16v (XE) engine to my mk2 in the near future and want to know what is the correct gearbox to use. Im not a boy racer who wants to race people at traffic lights, nor am i interested in 0-60 times lol - i just want to have a decent cruising speed on motorways (and not screaming the engine doing 65mph), and to have a useable acceleration around town etc...

Ive seen people use/talk of F13, F18, F20, F23, F25 gearboxs but i have literally no idea what is designed for what engine? Im aware that some versions come in a CR (close ratio) and a WR (wide ratio) but i dont know which ones these are. I work a race mechanic, so i dont need to be told the principles of diff ratios etc lol - but i just want an idea, maybe a list of what gearbox's are compatable with what engines.

I dont want this to be a 'my gearbox is better than yours...' thread lol, just a informative chat on what the specs/mechanical differences/compatabilities are between the different box's.

Lee

mowgli
24-01-13, 08:10 PM
the original supply was the f16cr, which is the same fit as the f18 & f20.

the xe fitting kits are based around these gboxes.

you can fit an f13/f15/f17, but you need to source a flywheel off a 1.7 non turbo diesel mk2 astra...

people have also fitted the f28 6speed(usually for turbo), the f23 & the f25,