PDA

View Full Version : 130K

Barn
04-08-03, 12:41 AM
My new SR has done 130K. After reading the article about tuning the 1.4 I've decided I'll go all out on it....the only problem is I'm skint so things like T40s etc (the really meaty stuff) are guna have to wait a good while (maybe a year). Sorry it's long-winded but my question is...Will it be still worth going full out on the engine even tho by the time I get T40s on, it prob would have done 140K miles plus? Will the mileage have a negative affect on performance?
I'm a newbie when it comes to engines etc so b gentle

nb The engine is sound as a pound atm

Cheers guys

Will
04-08-03, 12:57 AM
Full out, ur gona change carb, head, cam etc, rebuild the bottem end possibly, or if its still sound dont worry they are good and strong for 200k imho :)

good luck

p.s. more ppl are going my desired route now it looks like :D

SR T40

burgo
04-08-03, 02:38 AM
if its done 130k it is worth checking the bottom end out even if ur not gonna do nefing to it

Ste_Nova
04-08-03, 09:54 AM
pahh my old 1.2i had 204k on it and when the engine was opened it was mint... all comes down to servicing... the 204k was vuahll serviced every 9k

Dicko
04-08-03, 11:11 AM
over 22 vuax services sounds expensive :D

Ste_Nova
04-08-03, 01:10 PM
yeh it was... i used to spend hours sleeping in the waiting room on saturday mornings...... didn't bother me cause most of the miles were work one at 44p a mile

Dicko
04-08-03, 01:40 PM
lol :)
i get 40p a mile and make a killing even with TBs fitted :D

Ste_Nova
04-08-03, 03:02 PM
dicko this was back in 1992 when fuel was 46p/liter ;)

Ben (lurk75)
04-08-03, 06:51 PM
As said above, if you are going to spend the money on twin 40's etc you might as well rebuild the whole engine whilst you have it in pieces.

Will go on for ages after that.

mikeoxford
05-08-03, 02:53 PM