PDA

View Full Version : 90% lsd

jonn
24-04-12, 06:21 PM
i use my nova for autocross racing, similar to autograss and i am looking for a lsd. i have been offered 2 90% diffs one is a harry hockly. has anyone any experience with a 90% diff.

will it still turn into corners ok or will it be harder to get it to turn/ stay going straight?

is it a big job to fit the speedo ring gear onto the diff?

Gareth_C
24-04-12, 08:33 PM
I'm not very good on diffs but Dave Dixon has a gripper diff that's 90% locked iirc. And i think that knocks being pushed around corners

novarally
24-04-12, 08:41 PM
The 90% quoted is probably the lock-up ratio for acceleration. You also need to know the lock-up under deceleration conditions. I'm far from an expert here, but from what I can gather my my Tran-X LSD is a 55/90.

I'm told that means it locks 55% when slowing down, and 90% when accelerating.

jonn
24-04-12, 09:01 PM
ok the only problem is the sellers dont seem to know much about them, they were used for forestry rallying.

i sent harry hockly an email about his diffs so i will wait and see what he has to say aswell, i would like to go for a 70% one but i am getting it hard to find one.

novarally
24-04-12, 09:22 PM
ok the only problem is the sellers dont seem to know much about them, they were used for forestry rallying.

i sent harry hockly an email about his diffs so i will wait and see what he has to say aswell, i would like to go for a 70% one but i am getting it hard to find one.

If the Hockly one is the same as Tran-X (which I think it may be), then the ramp angles can be altered to give you different rates of lock-up from the same unit.

Dayle_
24-04-12, 10:29 PM