PDA

View Full Version : My first go at welding....any good or not?

marc69
24-04-12, 05:15 PM
Here is my first go at welding today. The rear bit on the roll cage was sitting as follows.
http://i988.photobucket.com/albums/af5/69marc/Photo361.jpg

http://i988.photobucket.com/albums/af5/69marc/Photo360.jpg

So I cut up a wok (the metal was really thick) and put a first bit round each side, a few holes but I tested by first hitting with a rubber mallet and then a hammer. It seems ok but I am a novice.
http://i988.photobucket.com/albums/af5/69marc/Photo362.jpg

Then after this had cooled, I put on a second bigger plate. I tested this again incase I had weakedned my first welding by going above and under it.

http://i988.photobucket.com/albums/af5/69marc/Photo365.jpg

The front 4 bits are bolted in but as the back was loose I thought it was clearly unsafe. I am just a novice but i hope this has made it a bit safer. Is it acceptable for strength?
Clearly not beauty!

Matt2107
24-04-12, 05:18 PM
Are you not supposed to distribute the forces by fitting flat end plates rather than welding the cage straight to the arch?

marc69
24-04-12, 05:20 PM
No idea! This was my first go, hopefully better than not being attached at all though.

autoworksnovasport
24-04-12, 05:28 PM
if you are welding the cage in you will need to seam it all the way around you cant just spot it in places yes it will hold but wont be very strong

if you are blowing through then do small overlaped spot welds so you form a seam all the way around

David2005
24-04-12, 05:29 PM
Tbh I don't think you should be having your first go at welding on a rollcage. And no that definately wouldn't be acceptable in my book. Practise more on scrap pieces and then when you become better you can start welding on cars.

paul080803
24-04-12, 05:38 PM