PDA

View Full Version : Career Change advice?

Nobby
05-02-12, 10:16 PM
Hi guys well heres my story, did my NVQ L2 and L3 in mechanics worked at 1 place got made redundant so worked at an engine rebuilders which was poo and now i work as a Tech at Stratstone Jaguar. Im doing my level 3 ATA atm and have 3 more 4 days courses to do then a final day of 6 exams, and ive got my MOT course booked for 20th Feb and will hopefully take my test within 2 weeks of the course. At work we have a new manager and tbh the place is a fuking nightmare everyones down in the dumps and its just **** really however i love the people i work with because we have a laugh. Weve just took a new Tech on so hes got all the **** jobs like clutchs brakes suspension work etc etc so im starting to get the more intense diagnosis work but will take me a while before im over competent with wiring etc over the basics!

........ Now ive applied for a job through a recruitment company called Manpower for the line work at Land Rover. Its starting on 22k (im on 18k at Jag and Master Tech are on 22-24k i think) with shift alowance and if i do nights its £15 an hour and saturdays are £17 and sundays are £20. Ive spoke to a mate who works there and says its demanding but basically just plugging things in and fitting panels (arch liners etc). The job is temporary as far as i can see until you have completed your NVQ that they put you on then Land Rover employ you (this is unconfirmed just what my mates said), the shifts are apparently 2 weeks days and 2 weeks nights. What would you guys do in my shoes? Stay where you are and just carry on doing the same as usual with the added MOT testing or go totally different for more money better pension, holidays etc etc but more travelling to get there its 29miles to land rover and 12miles to where i work now.

Any help appreciated guys!

autoworksnovasport
05-02-12, 10:27 PM
better the devil you know

pottersrebel
05-02-12, 10:42 PM