PDA

View Full Version : Stainless steel panels??

EwanG
06-01-12, 10:45 PM
Hey guys I am new to PNG and am looking for a mk1 sr to take me back to my youth :d !! I am a steel fabricator and if I were to buy a nova that needed some welding repairs I would be tempted to replace some rusty common places with stainless steel sheet. Correct me if I am wrong but if a battery tray,boot corners,front splash guards,sill patches or floor pan etc ect were rotten then why replace with mild steel? Stainless would last a lifetime and would never need replaced again! Any comments would be appreciated :thumb:..

Novasport
06-01-12, 10:54 PM
DMC Nova, just add Flux Capacitor

paul james
Its probably mostly due to a cost difference why replacement panels aren't stainless. Are there issues with welding stainless to mild steel?

novarally
Replace all the panels with brushed stainless..............a DeLorean Nova.

craighawkins
06-01-12, 11:00 PM
or just build a full carbon fibre shell

Bubba
06-01-12, 11:17 PM
mild steel sheet...£12-15 for a 2mx1m sheet...DECENT stainless sheet same size/thickness £80-120 (depending on grade) and thats what we pay for it. add 20%ish on top. another option in Zintec (zinc covered) mild steel. have to grind where youre welding but it would offer better protection.

Stuart
06-01-12, 11:20 PM
Thats the thing, if you weld stainless to mild it will rot faster than simply welding mild to mild.
Plus stainless weighs a fecking ton compared to mild.

Ali or Kevlar body FTW (sod carbon, too shattery when things go wrong lol )

Bubba
06-01-12, 11:47 PM
if you were to make panels from anything to prevent rust, aluminium would be a good one. although cant weld it but things like door skins and front wings could be done if you could bend it into shape.

EwanG
06-01-12, 11:51 PM