PDA

View Full Version : Joining a union

tony k
01-08-11, 03:24 PM
Hi peeps Been looking round at joining a union,never knew the was so many
also the price of them aswell,was loolong at one called urtu.com,as I'm a lorry driver seems like the one suited to my job,but thought I would ask you guys first,see if any of you are in one

Alex J
01-08-11, 03:32 PM
i hate unions, only good if you want to go on strike, witch solves nothing IMO.

wwmnw
01-08-11, 04:20 PM
I'm a member of usdaw and they've helped me got my job back in 2007 for unfair dismissal and I'm currently suspended on full pay so for "gross misconduct" (aka being sick at work but they're accusing me of being drunk because they saw me hungover 6 hours before my shift) so I'm using them again, I only pay about £5 odd pence a month and I'm glad to do so.

Jack
01-08-11, 04:36 PM
£11 a month puts me in PCS - they're generally pretty useless, but I've never had to use them as yet. My sister has though, and they were good with her.

pete17
01-08-11, 04:47 PM
im in unison and they have brilliant in the times ive needed them , even got us all at work around 5k back pay when they changed our contracts

thedjse
01-08-11, 05:38 PM
Not in any keep getting offered to join Unison but i work for the council fat lot of good they did when my pay went down and 1000 people took redundancy

tony k
01-08-11, 05:56 PM
Thanks for the replies guys so what's a good one to go with then as there are loads around

raymond
01-08-11, 07:45 PM
Im in a union and can honestly say they are a waste of time most of the time.

Although they did help me when I needed family friendly hours and my work refuse point plank

Union inn work gave in happy days

Pistol Pete
01-08-11, 07:52 PM
IMO they are a waste of time. Caused us quite abit of agro at work. So much so some de-recognition of the union is underway!

mowgli
01-08-11, 08:22 PM
1. do you feel oppressed?
2. do you feel underpaid?
3. do you feel overworked?