PDA

View Full Version : Alternator cut out for xe conversion!!

honie5
05-04-11, 04:29 PM
Could someone make me a cut out for my engine bay for the alternator please as it will save me alot of time and hassle and im not very good at fab lol I will pay and come collect if not to far away or pay for postage! Here's a pic of what I'm after!

http://i1180.photobucket.com/albums/x412/honie5/a3b85509.jpg

Cheers dan!

Tony M
05-04-11, 05:03 PM
Stop being a mincer and get your hands dirty

Iain
05-04-11, 05:06 PM
Only one way to learn! Draw it out on paper template, then add some extra tabs for folding over and cut it out of suitable thickness metal!

mk1nova_rich
05-04-11, 05:10 PM
thats a perfect piece for a beginner!! Cutting the chassis leg and welding it in is the hardest part lol

Bubba
05-04-11, 05:25 PM
be a man and just use a hammer...being a trust nova the chassis leg should be rust therefore thinner and easier to bash, rather than weld :)

Tony M
05-04-11, 05:34 PM
If your going to do it then do a proper job and box & weld it :thumb:

Pistol Pete
05-04-11, 06:09 PM
Hammer. Looks better IMO. Box cut out looks out of place in the bay. But when it's all together you can't see it anyway lol

Jack
05-04-11, 06:19 PM
...and while you're at it, put your phone on charge lol

markc20xe
05-04-11, 06:26 PM
if in doubt hit it with a hammer lol

L14MNP
05-04-11, 07:35 PM
Hammer. Looks better IMO. Box cut out looks out of place in the bay. But when it's all together you can't see it anyway lol

Same IMO. Never understood the fetish for doing it the 'proper' way!

honie5
05-04-11, 10:14 PM
Haha I copied that just before I went to bed lol to be fair there's not much rust! Just wanted it to look decent but Spose if I do it sensibly can do a tidy job with a hammer lol will be quite soothing to! Does the alternator just touch the chassis leg or is it in need of alot of bashing?

bazil
06-04-11, 12:39 AM