PDA

View Full Version : engineering apprentice

swedge
21-03-11, 01:20 PM
well i think i may be getting offered a new job :)

at the moment im a techincal operator for this company http://www.emtelle.com/

theres an apprentice engineer job came up which i have applied for before but in one of the other factories but didnt get it but done really well on the tests and interview

ive spoke to the head engineer and is really keen for me to get the job

only thing that bothers me is the drop in wages :( my wages at the mo are between 15k-16k a year after tax and thew apprentice wages will be around 7k after tax for the first year going up every year

im 24 so will be an "older" apprentice

anyone here live off apprentice wages lol?

its a multi disciplined engineer so will take on all aspects of engineering electrical mechanical, tool making etc

it looks a good job in the long run as its a 4 year apprenticeship with the first year at college full time

mowgli
21-03-11, 01:33 PM
see if there is any financial help from the govt.. there might be.

its good to see that you are looking at the long game here. but you might be better off looking at doing open university courses or similar or evening classes, cos 7k is truly scary for a 24 year old, and you'll not get decent money for a couple of years.

or get a part time job to pay your way.

swedge
21-03-11, 01:41 PM
i meant to say that in the first year ill be staying on campus during the week and all my rent etc will be paid but obviously still have my car insurance etc to pay

i have a part time job at the moment working on a bar at the weekends so id still be able to do that

16v Nova Kev
21-03-11, 01:46 PM
do it. your pocket might suffer for a year or 2 but in the end you will be on better money.

MK999
21-03-11, 01:46 PM