PDA

View Full Version : Let Rebuild

Plug
24-12-10, 01:48 AM
Right i know ive had a thread like this before but now im serious lol

Before i go ahead and order up some bits i would like for someone who knows whats needed to give me a list to make sure i dont forget anything.

Im going to be rebuilding the Let so its reliable and wont be running anything over phase 2 for a year,

Headgasket set (steel or Gm?)
Double valve springs (needed or not?)
Solid lifters (needed or not?)
Bronze valve guides (needed or not?)
Cam belt kit
Oil pump
Water pump
sump gasket (got)
8v baffle plate (got)

Im new to all this and thats about all i can think of really add away

AlanH
24-12-10, 03:47 AM
Headgasket set (steel or Gm?) 3 layer steel + new bolts
Double valve springs (needed or not?) not for phase 2
Solid lifters (needed or not?) not without lairy cams, as above not for ph2
Bronze valve guides (needed or not?) depends on condition of yours really, would do stem seals though and re-seat valves
Cam belt kit - yep
Oil pump - dont buy a cheapy repro one. modified z-let one is best or so im told
Water pump - yep
would advise arp rod bolts if you're running std. internals as the std. ones are made from a mixture of really soft steel and toffee lol

Plug
24-12-10, 02:48 PM
right so can somebody who knows what there on about write me a list of everything needed so i can order it all in one hit please?

Adam
24-12-10, 02:50 PM
You can run PH2 on normal everything tbh.

Just need changes to the fpr/injectors and fuel pump for safety.

Pistol Pete
24-12-10, 02:51 PM
Maybe PM Steveboyslim (is he on here?) on MIG or phillip off here seems to be able to source parts.

Plug
24-12-10, 02:55 PM
ok well whats needed in a standard rebuild?

I pm'd steve and got a response with various prices.

Just wanted a list of everything so i can pop to vauxhall and see what they have or ring auto vaux