PDA

View Full Version : welders/welding etc

adam c
20-09-10, 09:48 PM
Hi i know a few of you on here are welders by trade or do alot of welding(suppose you have to with running a nova!:( lol ).Im looking to do a course at night school on welding/fabrication(mainly for the certificate to say i can weld!)and have a few questions,
I have experiance mig welding but im only self taught.

1)It says you learn about MAG,TAG and MMA?is MAG mild steel?,TAG stainless steel? and whats MMA?lol

2)which type of welding pays the best?or has the greater career prospects?or is it all generalised and your expected to be able to do all 3?

3)In order to practise all 3 welding types would i need to buy three different welders or would i be able to change the settings/wire?

4)Anything else i need to know?lol

Any help would be much appreciated:thumb:

p.s sorry if it doesnt make much sense as i already typed it out and then the computer f****d up and i've had to type it all again!lol

turnipheed
20-09-10, 10:10 PM
not a welder to trade but done a fair bit of it as a mechanic MIG stands for metal inert gas - inert meaning that the gas used does not do anything apart from shield the weld to stop it oxidising like what you get with a stick welder (the swarf that you chip off with a hammer) MAG stands for metal active gas, im not sure the ins and outs of what gas is used but i presume it has something to do with the weld or possibly what you are welding
TIG is used for stainless and alloy and is done by a lance like a stick welder to create an arc and you use your other hand to dip a rod (specific to the kind of metal you are jointing) very similar to oxy acetalene welding but using electric to create an arc rather than a naked flame
dont know what mma welding is?
hope this helps

turnipheed
20-09-10, 10:12 PM
mma welding is stick welding as i just found out on google

gazz
20-09-10, 10:19 PM