PDA

View Full Version : Starting a business ???

djbrowney
19-08-10, 09:07 PM
Hi guys,

Just after some advice, i am a carpenter atm but do an awful lot of day to day repairs on upvc windows door ect ect drilling locks ect ect aswel as all types of carpenty. Now im planing on starting up my own business doing upvc maintance/repairs/lock changes ect ect.

Im going to get some flyers printed up to get sent out with the local news paper but whats the best way of getting people attention and not just putting it in the bin like most do lol

Also the design/layout of the flyer, i havent really got anything on my pc to desgin anything on so doddles on paper atm lol :cry:

Any other help would be much appreciated :thumb:

bazil
19-08-10, 09:11 PM
Microsoft works has a flyer thingy in it, it's on xp,
but word of mouth and a few before and after pics will help.

craig green
19-08-10, 09:12 PM
Good thread & good luck with your venture in advance.
I used to work for a newspaper, if you can afford the distribution & printing costs involved with the flyers then do it. If you place an ad in paper they will badger you endlessly for more ads & tbh who really looks at the ads in a newspaper these days??

I'd say you need it to appeal to older people in that a funky/modern style wont please your average 50 somethings that will want their windows & doors fixed. SO long as it portrays you as a trustworthy & honest tradesman you should be OK.

A local radio ad is probably your next best ad.

djbrowney
19-08-10, 09:15 PM
Cheers craig, i have sold some of the car stuff so now have the money to advertise. The radio is £2000 + so that i little more than i was hoping to pay. I really didnt realise how much this upvc stiff breaks tbh 15 years ago there was a massive boom with it round our way so i though being a credit crunch climate people would rather repair than replace lol (well i hope anyway)

Bazil im on windows 7 and dont have office :(