PDA

View Full Version : anybody ever worked at halfords?

brucer
09-05-10, 04:53 PM
thinking about applying to earn some extra dollar on the weekends, job title is 'fitter' so id presume wiper blades,stereos blah blah. im a fully qualified mechanic so should be easy stuff id imagine.

just wanderd what it would be like and if i should bother, pay says meets national minimum wage and says 7hrs which i dont know if thats over the weekend or just the day. its not going to break my bank open with money but any money is good nova money.:d

oppinions?

bruce

craig green
09-05-10, 04:55 PM
Do it mate. You'll have an easy time of putting in stereos & wipers or bulbs. You'll get a good discount on stuff & get your hands on stuff when its being cleared out.

Lee
09-05-10, 04:58 PM
I did about 11 years ago while I was at college :) Was actually a really good laugh, especially when you know more than the full timers lol

Adam
09-05-10, 04:58 PM
I remember a few years back i applied to be a "Ripspeed fitter/technician"

Didnt get it, a 17yr old girl did. FPMSL lollollol
She had full-time work experience, whereas i didnt.

Id go for it, youve got mechanical experience so youre sorted....

peester
09-05-10, 05:10 PM
From what i can gather - youll be doing 4hrs sat, 3 hrs sun. So no break. Youll only be fitting as and when a batt/bulb/blade sells with fitting. That store may do easy, on the spot stereo fits @ weekends (but you wont be doing any big jobs as its too busy during a weekend..)
the rest of the time you'll be selling/serving/calls/tidying so it really is a dog's body role lol..
But yeah discount is good ,tho clearance stuff is a thing of the past now..
Just read up on KPI's and how to sell fitting/benefits of trading up product ranges..

MK999
09-05-10, 05:31 PM