PDA

View Full Version : 6x9's, Sub, Amp?????

novaboy1.2
21-04-03, 06:57 PM
Right......I'm a complete amateur at I.C.E.

I have a Kenwood headunit 47W x 4

I have 2 Sony 6x9's just now and if its turned up loud then they make a stupid noise. If I got a sub and amp would this cure it or am I better getting some new 6x9's?
The front speakers are sound.
I need to get the balance right between quality and cash, I don’t have loads to spend but want some decent 6x9's and possibly a sub and amp, can any1 help? has anyone got a decent setup that didn't skin them loads of ????
Also, can u get a amp to run your sub and 6x9's off or what, any helps appreciated

Cheers

tonydry
21-04-03, 09:02 PM
your 6*9s will sound better on a amp and u could run a sub of the amp as well as long as its got enough chanels

Nova-Boy
22-04-03, 10:06 AM
Youe head unit will be enough to power 6x9's. If you can turn it up that load that they distort then i would say its the speakers making the noise due to too much power going to them.

If you have to turn the head unit all the way up to do this it could be the amp distorting. Perhaps running a sub and amp would stop too much going to the 6x9 and you wouldn't have to turn it up as load to get the bass. :P

tonydry
22-04-03, 12:01 PM
depends what the watage ov the 6*9s are mine were 280 so sounded crap on the head unit but mint on a amp

Nova-Boy
22-04-03, 12:30 PM
I had sony 6x9 in the back of my old nova. Even with a standard head unit you couls get them to distort. But like tony said if your 6x9 are 280watt MAX power then a lil 100 watt amp would do the trick.

novaboy1.2
22-04-03, 06:44 PM
So say i got 280w 6x9's and a 100 amp sub what kind of amp would i need? do i have to match the rms or what?

Ballsy
22-04-03, 07:17 PM
hey m8, if ur wanting to buy a sub then you should take the 6*9's off the parcel shelf cause the sub will make them sound pants,