PDA

View Full Version : Fitting a headunit

Jim Mcrae
28-12-09, 12:32 PM
I'm in the process of fiting a cd player in to the car, the first problem is there is only two wires coming from the car, the live to the battery and the earth, i have connected these to the stereo and can only get it to light up for half a second. What do I do? Im a noob when it comes to this!

Thanks

Annie
28-12-09, 12:40 PM
most players have a red, black & a yellow, depends on the player.

your have a:

red+ - ignition Live (switches the player on)
Black earth
yellow - Battery live (memory)
Blue - Amp remote

On some players if you dont want to mess around with wiring you can I think join the ignition live to the battery live & turn on player manually.

I know how to do it lol but cant put it in words im sure someone can go into detail.

what player is it?

Jim Mcrae
28-12-09, 12:44 PM
In layman's terms? lol

Jim Mcrae
28-12-09, 12:50 PM
EDITED, as didnt notice you had. Thanks will give it a go!

rep IF it works.

Nebbz
28-12-09, 01:02 PM
sorry to hijack your thread...but on the mark two nova...how the hell do you get that stupid cage out from the old head unit! tried loads of spanners and what not, i cannot get it to budge??? planning to drill out the nut how ever any other idea's also if any one knows that dam nut size for the spanner i need i would be a happy lady! (my headunit is currently hanging out!)

Rysee
28-12-09, 01:25 PM
Doesn't the cage have a screw from the back into a clip?

brainsnova
28-12-09, 01:42 PM
EDITED, as didnt notice you had. Thanks will give it a go!

rep IF it works.

run an ignition live as it gets annoying switching a stereo on and off manually. you could take a feed from the fan switch.

Rysee
28-12-09, 01:43 PM
Sorry for another hijack,

Brains could this be done on a mk1 dash without taking it out?

brainsnova
28-12-09, 01:47 PM
yes pop the heater switch out and be gentle then push a wire down or up. its a bit fiddly but possible.

Jim Mcrae