PDA

View Full Version : Would i be an idiot to Refuse this !?

Nick
18-10-09, 02:40 PM
My Parents have offered me a Citroen Xsara '04 for free...

This was surplus stock as the C4's were taking over, so it's got quite alot of extra kit in it. Now it's surplus to my mum as she's getting a lease car . Only issue is that this Xsara has 96k on the clocks, as my mum is a district nurse.

So far i've been rocking around in my low Mileage XR2 for the last 4 years, and i've also got the oppertunity to store it somewhere... It needs an Arch replacing (Seriously, if you think novas are bad... ) . I love driving it, but i know it deserves to have some rest and for me to repair the arch with Gen Panels...

So, a 96k 5 year old Citroen... More hassle than it's worth !?

Markd89
18-10-09, 02:40 PM
for free i wouldnt complain

mowgli
18-10-09, 02:42 PM
and you need to ask people?????? you need your head bumps feeling.... of course its a good deal.. try to get her to fill the tank first though

Nick
18-10-09, 02:43 PM
It'd be free. But it'd also be my problem once things go wrong...

At least i wouldn't have to worry about corrosion / Rot . Just more along the lines of susp/engine parts

Angus Closier
18-10-09, 02:43 PM
To be honest if your getting it for free then go for it! even if you have to spend a little on it, gives you a car to use and your xr2 will get the brake/fix it deserves! If I where you then id get on and use the free car untill the xr2 is ready again! then.....you always have another car to sell at the end of it!

Nick
18-10-09, 02:49 PM
Hmm yeah... I think the only things holding me back are;

a - i'm viewing it like a ticking time bomb. Citroen + 96k + No problems as of yet

b - It's a 5 door family car

c - I like my ford

dannyb
18-10-09, 02:49 PM