PDA

View Full Version : side lights on when braking

nova_sting
01-10-09, 05:47 PM
Hi all I'm new to all this so go easy on me :)

I'm having problems with my lights, i installed a new dash a few months back (grey mk1 to brown mk1) first off I'm still using the original light switch from grey dash but for some reason my headlights wouldn't turn on unless i pulled out the switch as if turning on the interior light, the headlights are now working fine but the rear lights don't work now and when the lights are off and i brake the side lights come on now instead of the brake lights. All fuses are fine, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers, Tom

mayhem
01-10-09, 05:50 PM
sounds like an earth problem behind the dash

nova_sting
01-10-09, 05:53 PM
Could you tell me where the earth will be located?

Cheers

AlexW
01-10-09, 06:44 PM
Do you mean the whole lot of sidelights are coming on?

Earth behind the dash is in the middle of the dash iirc, think you can see it if you remove the radio on a mk1 dash.

nova_sting
01-10-09, 07:41 PM
More investigation shows the front side lights dash lights and number plate light come on when braking, the only lights on the back that work are the indicators, the number plate light on rear also comes on when interior light is turned on and head lights are fine. The earth behind where stereo is seems to be fine from what i can see?? It looks like I'm going to have to take the dash out to see all the wires again doesn't it? Nightmare

AlexW
01-10-09, 08:13 PM
Unfortnalty yes, it really sounds like the dash earth, it also could be the one that is on the steering collum mount, i forget where each earth is.

Rather than the rear earth, it could be a dody switch but i doubt it.

nova_sting
01-10-09, 10:05 PM
nightmare i'll see what i can do over the weekend and let you know how i get on cheers for your help anyways

Stuart
01-10-09, 10:09 PM
I had similar with the Astra recently.