PDA

View Full Version : Nova 1600 R1 Carbs Problem...

--ToM--
08-08-09, 01:29 AM
Iv recently bought a nova 1600 gsi with r1 carbs fitted, it was running sweet as a nut pulled fine and smooth therough every gear and through the rev range and when driving before all of a sudden it lost a load of power and began to splutter lots almost like a missfire underload, i know **** all about carbs etc im totally new to it so im wondering if they need setting up again as i know there tempremental. it stinks of petrol when driving so im assuming its overfuelling which is causing it to run so bad, i just dont see how it happend all of a sudden can anyone suggest me what to look for or how to sorti t please thanks guys :)

tom reid
08-08-09, 01:32 AM
Have you checked for a fuel leak?

--ToM--
08-08-09, 01:37 AM
i did have a look around the pipes that run to the carbs and they seemed dry. i supose a tiny split in a fuel pipe could make it draw in air and cause the symptoms im describing?

philip
08-08-09, 07:11 AM
there slide carbs arent they? usually there pretty good once set up!

for it tooo suddenly go, as tom has said could be a split/leak somewhere. but check the rubbers that hold the carbs onto the manifold, check the manifold isnt cracked.

have tyou run mega low on fuel? maybe picked some ****e up out the tank and block the carbs?

tom reid
08-08-09, 07:40 AM
Following on from Phillips advice, if it's not leaking fuel,have you checked the overflow pipe too?, go back to basics, check leads, plugs, distributor cap and rotor arm, it might not be a carb issue.

Southie
08-08-09, 07:52 AM
Mine always use to come away from the inlet due to them not being jubelle clipped on properly. Worth a check just give them a rock and see if there's any movement.

--ToM--
08-08-09, 09:19 AM