PDA

View Full Version : popn me cherry!

Jez414
24-02-03, 12:40 PM
hi all

i'm new here but not new in the nova world. this is atemt at doing a convertion. i'm planing on puting a 2.0l 8v or 16v engine in my nove sr but thers just a cople of questions i want to know.

1.wot vauxhall should i get the engine out off.

2.do i need to modify ant thing for he engine to fit.

3.wot looms do i need.

4. do i need to do anything to the ECU.

5.wot brack do i use.

if ther's ant thing eles i should know plz tell me as this is my first time @ doing a convetion.

Thanx Jez[/list]

mikeoxford
24-02-03, 02:06 PM
16 valves are better than 8........... :wink:

Jez414
24-02-03, 03:32 PM
i'v found a engine astra GTE 2.0L 8v in the parts for sale section have a look and tell me if i should go for it .

www.novaload.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=70028

whitey
24-02-03, 08:15 PM
I dont know very much about 2L 16V engines or engines in general when you get to the nitty gritty but I do know that the 16V is better!

However, there is the question of getting the car seam welded! I think that with an 8V it isnt really that imp but with a 16V it is more a less a must! Just something I heard! Mite be wrong!

Go for a Cav engine too if you can as the insurance will be cheaper than an Astra or Calibra engine!

Dan
24-02-03, 09:14 PM
either 2.0 lump is a big block engine so same amount of work for both

mark_GSi
02-03-03, 01:02 PM
uummm, 8v would be easier 2 repair but 16v for power!

up 2 u m8, i would prob go for 8v, weighs less, tunable ect

having said there is pros and cons 2 both :?

Nova-Flair
02-03-03, 02:15 PM
go for 16v they r more powerful but make sure u get an insurance quote first tho!

Tazzy
02-03-03, 02:39 PM
its me (well my brother) that is selling the 2.0 8v engine, all the spec is in the parts for sale section, its a great engine, i can vouch for that, and as all 8v vauxy engines go, this beast is undistructable!

mikeoxford
02-03-03, 09:46 PM