PDA

View Full Version : Ive had a revelation what ya think?

nova dosed
10-02-03, 06:29 PM
This annoying problem i have about traveling a distance and then the car cutting out but been fine if u restart it after a min.

Well i thought it cud be a fueling prob but

what if its caused by my exhaust.
Ive still got a standard centre section with a cam, 4 branch and k and n oh and s/s back box.

What if the gasses are leaving the car good down the 4 branch and reaching the centre section then as its gone from 4 branch to standard cud it be getting clogged up and then backing up to the engine and eventually making it cut out?

So i need to replace the exhaust system if thats the case

thats what it feels like. As im no expert im probally wrong like normal

Give me ur ideas

Cheers

jon

Chris LR
10-02-03, 06:55 PM
If the size difference is huge it will affect your engine, but I don't know if it would be enough to cut it.

What else have you ruled out, and why?

nova dosed
10-02-03, 07:03 PM
Right i thought it was due to under fueling _ trying that this week as bought new webber today a 32/34

Cud be the auto choke but i will no when i swap the carb

Me mate thinks its the coil- bought a new one today will try that this week

possibility- its the exhaust as reasons stated above

ive changed the vacum, dist cap, rota arm plugs leads

its baffling me. When it happends it does this the engine will not rev right 1st then the revs start to die if u stop and try to pull off it sounds like a miss fire (like if u have a k and n on and 1st thing in the morning its abit rough ) but then if turn it off leave it for a min it will drive like there was no problem

Chris LR
10-02-03, 07:07 PM
Have you adjusted the points in the dizzy?

nova dosed
10-02-03, 07:33 PM
er no on purpose no why shud i if so how the hell do i do that u on about the advance retard thing

Chris LR
10-02-03, 07:38 PM
Well get your haynes and a set of feeler gauges.