PDA

View Full Version : Mix and match

Leeboo
16-06-09, 09:58 PM
Hi I am thinking of making use of some spare parts from my garage by building up an engine. I have a complete 1300 bottom end, a 1200 head, and 1600sv twin choke carb. I can get hold of an inlet and 1600sv camshaft easily.

So, a 1300 bottom end, 1200 head with 1600 cam and 1600 inlet/carb. Whats people's thoughts on that? I have sr mani/downpipes and 4 branch so would be ok in that department. p.s. I think the 1600 cam is same as a 1.3 SR. Its slot drive so i have 4 spare slot drive dizzys.

Also, anyone have any guides on headwork? Like matching ports/porting polishing etc?

I am a beginner really the most I've done on an engine was a headgasket so looking to use this as a learning curve as I have most the bits lying here (part from service parts obv.)

Thanks, Lee

AlexW
16-06-09, 10:01 PM
1600 cam would problery be too much on a 1300, somone will be able to confirm. Thought about sourceing a 1400 carb?

Leeboo
16-06-09, 10:18 PM
Think I remember reading that the cam on a 16sv is the same as a 1300?

Could get a 1400 pierburg 2e yeah but didn't see the need? I could get a 1400 cam too but obviously wouldn't be slot drive... I don't fancy finding the stuff to go along with it. I can get anything off a 1400nv but don't think I need anything off it?

jimbob-mcgrew
16-06-09, 11:26 PM
sounds like it might be a little beasty

AlexW
16-06-09, 11:34 PM
Ahhh ****e i fail... I ment to say CARB... not cam. What a fecking homo am i!

Leeboo
16-06-09, 11:55 PM
Don't worry AW06, homo's have just as much right to exist as other people lol .

Does anyone know of any guides on basic headwork on the net? I remember a guide in Total Vauxhall a while back but not sure now where the mag is.

jimbob-mcgrew
17-06-09, 12:07 AM