PDA

View Full Version : vtec in a nova???

rallydak
09-06-09, 10:58 PM
hi im cureently building a nova shell for rallying. i want to go into the 1400 class and to be competitive using a vauxhall engine i would have to spend a lot of money. i was woundering would i be better going for a 1400 vtec engine and changing the brain etc. i was woundering does anyone no what you have to do to put one into a nova. i have no experience with vtecs so i know nothing on what they are like and was woundering if any one on here has done one of these conversions before???

any help you can give me on this would be appreciated lads

sulphur
09-06-09, 11:02 PM
From what I remember, it won't work. Box hitting the wheel when turning or something.

craig green
09-06-09, 11:03 PM
A V-TEC is your best option but prolly not a viable one.

I've heard the engine & gearbox combined width is too long to get under a Novas wheel arches. Some engines have the gearbox on the opposite side too, but that may not be all of them. Lots of fabrication I expect. MINI forums might be better source of general info...

Rich
09-06-09, 11:10 PM
They get them into minis so sure its possible. Its not a common conversion so your own you own really.

boffer8
09-06-09, 11:21 PM
you wont be able to run it after 2010 anyways from what i have heard as the msa have brought in a regulation which classify them as specials and will not be allowed in rallying, maybe wrong though, just what i have heard on the grapevine

burgo
10-06-09, 12:28 AM
there was a honda powered nova built on here. search the projects section

BIGS
10-06-09, 12:29 AM
why not use a swift gti engine? i know its a 1.3 but surly thats ok:confused:

burgo
10-06-09, 12:30 AM
why not use an x14xe. piece of piss conversion then

BIGS
10-06-09, 12:46 AM
yea thats true. dont have to spend much on these engines to get good power

AlexW
10-06-09, 12:52 AM
What i was about to say chaps lol

I guess you could get about 130bhp if you tried. Maybe more.

xxspudxx