PDA

View Full Version : Cant select a gear when running?

hc coupe
05-06-09, 08:39 PM
Hello,
Right, when the engine is turned off I can freely select a gear, however when the engine is running it doesn't want to engage any gears.
If I put it in gear with the engine off it works fine, and I am able to drive in that gear once the engine is turned on, although again, I can't select another gear?
I hope its an easy fix. I know I fiddled around with the clutch cable as its been slack for about 6 months whilst it hasn't been used ? have I not tightened it enough/too much?
Any idea's
Thank you ever so much , and yes I'm new to this lol

Tom

Will F
05-06-09, 08:42 PM
clutch-related. have you just fitted one or something?

John
05-06-09, 08:44 PM
Yeah, i'm with Will, if it's been stood for ages, i'd say the friction plate has bedded it's self to the fly/pressure plate.

hc coupe
05-06-09, 08:46 PM
No, I've just semi finished an engine conversion and all I need to do is get it to select a gear.

The box hasn't been separated since it came out of the car I bought it from ?
When the clutch is in , it will stop it from stalling when in gear

Pistol Pete
05-06-09, 08:52 PM
Sounds clutch/gearbox related to me.

Yeah, i'm with Will, if it's been stood for ages, i'd say the friction plate has bedded it's self to the fly/pressure plate.

Maybe keep your foot on the pedal, and the heat will seperate them?

hc coupe
05-06-09, 08:55 PM
Right, Well thank you all so far for all the comments. Just a kick in the ribs as its so close to getting done !.

Cheers + rep given out also

Any other theory’s to resolve my problem ?

Tom

tom reid
05-06-09, 09:51 PM
Centre plate is stuck to flywheel or you have insuffiencent clearance.
Try towing the car in third gear with the gear selected before you move off, it should chug a bit and then free itself, may take a couple of goes.
Or it may just need correct adjustment
hth

NovaBoi92
05-06-09, 09:57 PM