PDA

View Full Version : Complete nooby with a 2.2 vectra engine for a nova

sparkySX
14-04-09, 12:36 AM
Hi guys, I joined today as PNG seems to be a really good club/forum :thumb:

I’ve wanted a Nova for about 6 years now (Well before I could drive!)

So have decided its my next project.

The list I’ve come up with to do is the following:

-Alloys
-No back seats/carpet
-No plastics
-Buckets
-Harnesses
-Minimal dash as poss
-Roll cage
-Seem weld
-Respray
-Custom exhaust and manifold
-Reseal all underneath car- removing any rust
-Willwoods or similar
-Braided fuel and brake lines
-Paddle clutch
-Lower on coilies

Now my question is that I am able to get a cheap Vectra 2.2 Year 2000 (Facelift)

(Im not sure what engine it is (Poss a Z22se? I think its an ecotec one))

Do these engines fit quite well?

I have no experience in engine transplants but its going to be a big and fun learning curve!

Cheers

Phil

The Simps
14-04-09, 12:45 AM
This is something I've thought about doing to a nova at some point because the intake on the 2.2 engine is on the front so would be cool for TBs/carbs and a ram air effect. The yanks are also getting a lot of power out of these engines!

You may need to fabricate your own front engine mount, I'm not sure. Other consideration might be that I think the 2.2s aren't throttle cable but are electronic. TBs/Carbs would fix that tho ;)

Gearbox wise I think they came with F18s which are hydraulic. You could run that or just fit an f20.

mikey14sr
14-04-09, 09:30 AM
The vectra's gearbox will more likely be an F23, cable change with hydraulic clutch operation, and no speedo output (vecs use the ABS signals for that). Should be able to fit an F20 complete with an early XE flat flywheel and clutch to get rid of that though.

Wiring should be no harder than any other conversion, but if you want to keep the engine standard you'll need to swap over the accelerator pedal and sensor with it being drive-by-wire.

16v Nova Kev
14-04-09, 10:42 AM