PDA

View Full Version : c20xe questions

ST-eater
27-03-09, 04:50 PM
Hi all, im new to the site and looking for a few bits of information with regards to doing a DIY conversion in a j plate 1.2 merit.

I have previous experince with engine swaps, being the last one a 220bhp dyno'd RST engine in a ford ka, and a few fiat small block swaps.

I bought a nova previously with a 2.0 engine and was really chuffed with it, but after realising the car was a nail i sold it off as spares and repairs.

The time has come for me to do a conversion myself, but im new to the vauxhall scene.

Im under the impression that its not a super hard job to do, and i find the 'articles' and the 'search' functions usefull, but there are a few areas i need your advice to clear up.

Could someone explain to me if i need a strengthening kit (the plates on ebay) if i was to seam weld the complete engine bay.

Do i need the cavi gear stick set up, or can i get away with using the one thats in the 1.2 nova.

Will the 1.2 rad be enough to cool it (im assuming not) but after looking on the search it seems that it can be used :s

Are the anti roll bar spacers a must, or is it just to clear some exhausts.

And finally could someone explain the best way to sort the driveshafts and hubs (pref the cheapest way) as i would be wanting to fit the 2.0 astra hubs/brakes, but no idea if i would need custom or 22 spline shafts, as the guide said there are two options, and i really dont know what i could use.... i assume i just put different cv's on each end?

Oh not forgetting, is there anywhere i can get info on the difference between gearboxes, i understand that the f20 is a strong possibly diesel box, but im no sure about the f16 f18 (and any others if there are). I thought the basis was the lower the number the shorter the gear ratio, but not 100% sure.

Any help would be appreciated... Cheers :)

burgo
27-03-09, 04:56 PM