PDA

View Full Version : heaters blowing cold only???

gouch
08-02-09, 07:20 PM
as above please guys...on my 1.2 luxe,ive been told its more than likely the thermostat...could somebody please confirm this? and tell me the location in the engine bay so i can replace it? my mechanical ability is okay but im new to these cars....
thanks in advance:)

craig green
08-02-09, 07:31 PM
I would check the cable from the heater control o the dash to the flap above the matrix (inner rad) is actually moving the flap & sending heat from the matrix into the dash ducting, secondly check the matrix isnt leaking coolant into the car or that its entirely blocked. Then maybe check the thermostst.

What car/engine is it?

Has the heating suddenly stopped being warm/hot?

gouch
08-02-09, 07:38 PM
thanks for the reply.. its a nova luxe 1.2 i.. its happend quite recently, but its not heating up at all now, ill go and check the cable is moving the flap in the matrix, i havent noticed any leaking inside the car of yet. :)

2lbill
08-02-09, 07:55 PM
what does the temp gauge sit at mate.

taylor 2008
08-02-09, 08:05 PM
what does the temp gauge sit at mate.

mine is doin this today exactly the same its bloweing cold air, you have to leave the car running for half and hr or so so then the guage moves up then blowes warm air, but when driveing the guage doesnt move stop's on cold, and blowes cold air, brought a new thermostate for it that should sove the problem dont you think????:thumb:

gouch
08-02-09, 08:16 PM
right just been out to have a nosey at the cables...the left hand ones (hot to cold selector) broke on the clip,got my hand up and moved the flap manually so i can have it on warm only for now (all thats needed at the mo with this weather)
my mate tells me they've a habit of breaking at the clips when you try remove them from another car (if i went to the scrappy for one) so can i still get one from vauxhall?? are they reasonably priced?
thanks guys-good call craig!

brainsnova